The first day of 2013

As is tradition M and I went to the cinema on the first day of the year – we saw Jack Reacher. I have not read any of the books but M has – as it happens it didn’t make a lot of difference as we both gave it a 6/10.

FYI our scoring system is:
9-10: Excellent… literally amazing
7-8: Very good
5-6: Good
3-4: Average
1-2: Poor… very poor

I thought Tom Cruise was pretty good (and I don’t really rate him normally… possibly due to being not much of an action movie fan) and M reliably informs me he has nailed the character in all respects other than looks. Seeing the movie has inspired me to read the first book in the series as it is not what I thought it was going to be. I had the impression it was a sort of police investigative series. Apparently not!

Interesting fact for you – the desk cop in the film where Reacher is saying how cops never drive civilian cars… that is Lee Child himself.

After the movie we headed over to Cafe Rouge for lunch – he had Poulet Bretton, I had Chicken Tagine – food was good, service slow. We also treated ourselves to some take out cake from Pattesserie Valerie – which was bloody lovely this evening with a cup of tea – and have spent the rest of the day just relaxing at home. I set up this blog and did a bit of maintenance on my much neglected website – and the most productive thing we have done all day: ordered the Medium Fruit & Veg box from Abel & Cole which arrives on friday with a free copy of their most recent cookbook. We love us a freebie!

Leave a Reply

