Green Kale and Clementine Leaves…

ooooh… a box full of goodness for £18.99 delivered? Yes Please…

http://www.abelandcole.co.uk/medium-fruit-veg-box

This is what we have arriving tomorrow. The lovely people at Abel & Cole will leave it in our porch cupboard for us so it should be waiting when we arrive home from work. They are having an offer at the moment where you get a free copy of their cookbook too. Nice.

The boxes come with surprise (well – it’s a surprise if you don’t look on the website) ingredients from a selection of seasonal fruit and veg. This weeks ingredients (I don’t like surprises) are:

  • Carrots
  • Clementines (with leaves)
  • Cox Royal Apples
  • Fairtrade bananas
  • Green Kale
  • Lady Balfour Potatoes
  • Lettuce Mini Romaine
  • Red Pepper
  • Vine Tomatoes Punnet
  • White Onions

That free cookbook is looking like a definite bonus… I have sod all idea what to do with Kale! I am also slightly concerned about “with leaves”. Are you supposed to do something with the leaves? I bet there are people who would read this and immediately exclaim “Why of course – do you not make your own clementineleafinfusionof wonder?”…

All I’ve ever done with a clementine is peel it and eat it. If I’m honest I prefer a satsuma for easy peeling. Time to branch out though – and that is the point of the fruit n veg box deliveries. To encourage cooking from scratch and eating more fresh food. I think it might help me with the ‘treatment’ I am currently having (tis hardly a treat) and generally I feel better when I eat better so that is the plan.

I thought I might make a regular post about whats in the box each week and how successful we have been in a) using all the produce and b) producing edible food. The general idea is we take turns cooking and try to plan our menu for the week based on the box. I will post my ideas of what I would like to cook / make that week and then a follow-up of what actually transpired.

So looking at this weeks ingredients I think I am aiming for:

I reckon that’s challenging enough for week 1. Might even be a bit too challenging… we will see.

I’ll be back next week with pictures of my creations – wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

Blogging all over the world

exciting times in Thailand

Chemo For Beginners - an A to Z of all things "C"

Chemo For Beginners - An A to Z of all things "C"

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Hesitantly Healthy

Healthy with a touch of indulgence!

Rocking My 365 Project!

Learning photography one click at a time.

Curiouser and Curiouser

One girl's journey with breast cancer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

