Bag of Swag

I was brave today – I went to a ‘Look Good… Feel Better’ session all on my lonesome. For those of you that don’t know this is a cancer charity that helps woman deal with the physical effects of cancer treatment. Have a shufty at the website for the full lowdown – but basically they run free skin care and make up workshops.

I would say about 10 ladies attended my session and there were at least 6 people running the workshop – ranging from professional make up artists / beauticians, to Macmillan nurses. All of the make up / skin care people seemed very knowledgeable and it was all very interactive. I believe they are volunteers too which is lovely of them. Once we’d arrived and got a drink we were presented with a bag of products to suit our skin tone and away we went with trying everything out. We ran through removing make up  / skin care and then did pretty much a full face of make up with the products from our gift bag. Oh and you get to take the bag of swag home with you – hurrah!!

It is actually quite impressive I think – the charity is supported by major companies in the beauty industry who donate the products. You get a lot of stuff… read on to find out what I brought home with me.

The beauticians running the workshop took a topic each (skin care / face make up / eyebrows / eye shadow etc) and the rest of them helped anyone who needed help as we went along.  In terms of tips etc I didn’t pick up any new ones really – but I did learn that face wipes and eye make up remover pads are not very good for your skin and should only be used in an emergency apparently!! If you didn’t normally wear a lot of make up then I think this would be a great opportunity to gain some confidence and tips for application. If are already pretty up to speed then it is a good opportunity to ask any questions of the pro’s – I chatted to one of them about BB Creams and why they are all the rage. She’s told me the next thing will be CC Creams… tis a never ending business this beauty lark.

The workshop was two hours and went really quickly. Before I knew it I was toddling off with my bag of swag… which consisted of the following:

Skin Care / Face Make up:

DSC_0538

Other Make Up:

DSC_0539

Perfume:

DSC_0540

All Together:

DSC_0542

Now, some of these brands – like Lancolm and Clinique – are not ones I have ever used before. I’m more of an Urban Decay / Too Faced kind of girl. So I was interested to look into what I had been given in more detail… which is when I realised some of this stuff is expensive!! So then of course I had to total it all up…

Loreal Vitalift Rejuvinating Cleansing – Rich Make Up Removing Milk 200ml = £3.59
Loreal Vitalift Rejuvinating Cleansing – Smoothing Toner 200ml = £3.59
Rimmell Gentle Eye Make Up Remover 125 ml = £4.00
Lancolm Hydra Zen Yeaux Neurocalm 15ml = £32
Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion (Very Dry / Dry Combination) 50ml = £9.00
No.7 Colour Calming Primer (green) 40ml = £10.50
No.7 Instant Radiance Brush Foundation 30ml = £12.50
No.7 Perfect Light Translucent Loose Powder 24gm = £10.50
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer 8g = £15.00
Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blusher 12m = £6.99
No.7 Stay Perfect Eyeshadow Trio = £9.50
Estee Lauder High Definition Volume Mascara 6m = £20
Clinique Quickliner for Lips = £11.50
Max Factor Colour Elixer Lipstick Pashmina = £7.99
Max Factor Colour Elixer Lipstick Pink randy = £7.99
L’Oreal Glam Shine 6H Gloss = £8.69
Lancolm Le Crayon Sourcils Pro = £17.00
Lancolm Le Crayon Khol = £18.00
Miss Dior Eau De Perfume = £64

Totalling: £272.34 !!!!

Holy crudmoly that’s an unexpected amount of free stuff. My favourite thing by a country mile is the Lancolm khol pencil – I like me a bit of eye liner and it is a silvery grey colour that I definitely don’t have a dupe for. All of it is lovely and does suit my skin – the only things I’m not likely to get a huge amount of use out of is the lipstick and that’s just because I don’t wear lipstick very often. Obviously it was nice to go to the workshop and I had fun – but even if you were unsure of that, the bag of swag is pretty special on it’s own.

Thank you ‘Look Good… Feel Better’ – I had a great time and really really appreciate what you do.

One response to “Bag of Swag

Leave a Reply

Blogging all over the world

exciting times in Thailand

Chemo For Beginners - an A to Z of all things "C"

Chemo For Beginners - An A to Z of all things "C"

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Hesitantly Healthy

Healthy with a touch of indulgence!

Rocking My 365 Project!

Learning photography one click at a time.

Curiouser and Curiouser

One girl's journey with breast cancer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

