Super Duper – Tomato & Courgette

Shock!

A non cancer related post 🙂

Well, technically it is because I woke up this morning feeling a bit glum that I was home alone again and my stupid back has joined in the pain fest. I think I must have been holding myself funny on account of the foobs – or possibly it is because I am still having to sleep in a sitting up position. Whatever has caused it, I’ve had enough now!

It would have been very easy to just lounge around in my PJ’s all day but I decided that some exercise would probably do me good and I wanted to do something vaguely constructive. I have been really pleased with how much weight I have managed to lose since chemo. Granted – a lot of it (about 1/2 stone I think) was water retention. Can’t tell you how much better it is not having to carry around that much water in your legs! Surgery also seemed to re-set my eating a bit. I just didn’t want very much to eat while I was in the hospital and what I did opt for was the lighter / healthier choices. I have made a conscious effort to carry this on since I got home – with a good sprinkling of norty treats too of course!

The point (which I am finally getting to) is that I decided to walk to the supermarket. I needed some more painkillers and I could have gone down the road to the pharmacy but the walk to Asda is longer and I wanted to get some exercise in too. Once I found myself at Asda, painkillers in hand, I decided to grab a few other bits and make myself something nice to eat. I’ll admit to hanging around the cake making aisle for quite a while but then I had a word with myself and decided soup would be easy, healthy and I could use some of the herbs from my herb garden.

So that is how I found myself making Tomato, Courgette and Oregano soup this afternoon. I’m quite proud of myself for being a bit productive (I dusted our spiral staircase too – a thankless task!!) and the soup turned out really good. Hurrah! Feeling a bit less glum now.

So, here is what I used – I made this up as I didn’t take a recipe to the shops. I had just got the tomatoes and courgette and the rest we already had:

DSC_0388

DSC_0389

That is:

4x Vine tomatoes (chopped)
1x Courgette (sliced)
1x Red Onion (diced)
Bunch of Garlic Chives (from the garden)
Bunch of Oregano (from the garden)
Sprinkling of ground nutmeg
Sprinkling of generic Italian seasoning
Liberal squeeze of lemon juice
Ground black pepper – to taste
500ml Vegetable Stock
Glug of sunflower oil

Method:

Chuck courgette slices in collander and sprinkle with salt – leave for 10 minutes and then pat dry. Warm the oil in a big pot and then sautee the onion, courgette and chopped chives for about 10 minutes. Add the stock and tomatoes and simmer for a further 25 minutes. It should look something like this at this point:

DSC_0390

I then blended it with a stick blender – but you could use a food processor or whatever device you happen to have. Add nutmeg, italian seasoning, oregano, pepper and lemon juice, stir and you are done. Easy!

DSC_0391

This tasted lovely and also had a great consistency which is something I often get wrong with soup. I ate the lot – a bit piggy but I figure there can’t be many calories in this at all! It made enough for two of the below bowls full exactly:

DSC_0392

Definitely a successful enterprise and one I will be making again. The only thing I would change is to chop the Oregano smaller as there were some big bits that I missed when ripping it up.

Leave a Reply

Blogging all over the world

exciting times in Thailand

Chemo For Beginners - an A to Z of all things "C"

Chemo For Beginners - An A to Z of all things "C"

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Hesitantly Healthy

Healthy with a touch of indulgence!

Rocking My 365 Project!

Learning photography one click at a time.

Curiouser and Curiouser

One girl's journey with breast cancer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

