Courgette Pasta?

image

So I don’t think I’ve mentioned that we’ve started to get the fruit n veg boxes from Abel & Cole again. Now I can taste and have some energy to cook it seems worth it!

We’re also both trying to loose a bit of weight and eat more healthily again too. On that note I wanted to post about a dinner I made the other day which was surprisingly good. Courgettes are not my favourite veg – but they arrived in the box so I had to find something to do with them… and that was ‘courgette pasta’.

Basically, take a courgette or two and a veg peeler and ‘peel’ the courgette into ribbons. You could leave them like that but I cut them lengthways so they ended up like linguine.  Whack them in a pan of boiling water for one minute and the drain and rinse with cold water.

Make the rest of your normal pasta dish at this point – but only using half the amount of pasta as normal. I did tomato & chilli prawn linguine. Right at the end of cooking combine the courgette ribbons ‘pasta’ with the actual pasta juat to warm it – and serve as normal.

This was lovely – and cuts the calories significantly!! We got courgettes again in the veg box this week and I’m thinking some kind of smoked salmon / creme fraiche ensemble this time… I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Blogging all over the world

exciting times in Thailand

Chemo For Beginners - an A to Z of all things "C"

Chemo For Beginners - An A to Z of all things "C"

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Hesitantly Healthy

Healthy with a touch of indulgence!

Rocking My 365 Project!

Learning photography one click at a time.

Curiouser and Curiouser

One girl's journey with breast cancer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

