Spoil Yourself…

I’ve realised something about myself and I am doing my best to rectify it…

When I have nice things – like beauty products or clothes – I tend to hoard them rather than use them. Not kidding –  I have a whole bathroom full of fancy moisturiser and wotnot that I have not been using for ages. It is like I’m saving it all so it won’t run out – but that pretty much defeats the purpose of having it! I’m as bad with clothes – save the nicest things for special occasions which means they don’t get a whole lot of use. I have started to wear makeup again (it was all a bit pointless when I was bald with not brows / lashes and had my steroid moon face) – but I tend to stick to the same items and have lots of products stashed in draws not being used.

So I am making a concerted effort to start using this stuff. I’m also making a concerted effort to treat myself in small ways. For instance – there is a shower cream from Boots that I really like – but it costs £4.50. I know that isn’t a lot compared to more luxury brands – but traditionally I’ve just got whatever is on offer in Asda for £1 – so £4.50 seems a little extravagant! I like it though – so I went and got some last week and I’ve been very much enjoying using it!!

Basically I want to stop the habit of always getting the ‘good value’ offer and if I know I like something a little more expensive then I think I deserve to have it. Not that I’ll be needing any moisturiser or body scrub any time soon – I need to work my way through the mountain of gifts I’ve received and never opened first!! I believe what I’m doing in that respect is “shopping my stash” – and I’ve already discovered a couple of favourites 🙂

On that note – I thought it might be fun to name a few of my favourites periodically… stuff I’ve been using for a whole and keep repurchasing, or new things I’ve found that I love. So here’s the first instalment – and I encourage anyone reading this to treat themselves to something lovely tomorrow. It doesn’t have to be super expensive or extravagant – maybe one of these:

1. Boots Extracts body wash and body butter… they smell lush. Currently I’m using the Almond body wash and the Cocoa body butter. I’m actually sniffing my arm now and I can still smell the cocoa body butter I put on after my shower earlier. It also absorbs quickly and leaves my skin feeling lovely and smooth. I think I will have to get the full range of cocoa butter items once I’ve finished with what I have. This is a new find and I think it is definitely going to be a long term favourite. They do this little selection box which I like the sound of: http://www.boots.com/en/Boots-Extracts-Cocoa-Butter-Selection-Box_1251486/

 

2. Benefit “Hooked on Carmella” perfume. This one is an established favourite… smells sort of floral and vanilla (can you tell I like sweet scents?). Everyone comments on this (in a good way!) when I wear it. Several of the men I work with have asked what it is so they can get it for their wives as gifts… I think that is a good sign!  http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-Hooked-on-Carmella-Eau-de-Toilette-30ml_1104360/

 

3. This is in no way a high end item – but it has been doing good things for my hair for a while now. Was using it before chemo and it really helped keep my very thick hair under control. Now I’m spraying it on liberally to try to get my chemo ravaged hair back into some kind of good condition. It is cheap and cheerful – but it really works. Boots Coconut & Almond leave in conditioner: http://www.boots.com/en/Boots-Ingredients-Coconut-Almond-Leave-In-Conditioner-150ml_863451/

 

4. Soap & Glory Breakfast Scrub… it’s another sweet smelling tub of loveliness. Oats and Shea Butter and Sugar. To be honest it smells so good I want to eat it! I’m actually using up a different Soap & Glory scrub (FLake Away) at the moment. It does the job pretty well but I don’t like the smell as much. They do have another one called Sugar Crush which sounds like it might but up my street! So far though. Breakfast Scrub is my favourite. Smells fabulous, exfoliates well but is also very moisturising. I’m looking forward to using up all my other scrubs so I can go get this again asap! http://www.boots.com/en/Soap-Glory-The-Breakfast-Scrub™-Body-Exfoliator-300ml_1114195/

 

So they’re the four things that immediately sprang to mind – apparently I have a bit of a penchant for sweet things! I do actually have a Debenhams gift card that my workmates got me when I was off work for surgery. I might go and have a sniff of the perfumes tomorrow as I fancy trying something new. I’ll report back if I find anything I love…

One response to “Spoil Yourself…

Leave a Reply

Blogging all over the world

exciting times in Thailand

Chemo For Beginners - an A to Z of all things "C"

Chemo For Beginners - An A to Z of all things "C"

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Hesitantly Healthy

Healthy with a touch of indulgence!

Rocking My 365 Project!

Learning photography one click at a time.

Curiouser and Curiouser

One girl's journey with breast cancer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

